We May be on the Cutting Edge/Signs of Hope

Rainbow

http://www.freefoto.com/preview/15-27-2?ffid=15-27-2

  • I have a friend who is updating a well-known business writing textbook. She wants to add an assignment where students have to using podcasting or videocasting, and wants my help in figuring out how to set it up. I see an inroad into college and university communications courses – provided, of course, that the teachers use the assignment.
  • The board of a volunteer organization I work with has set up a wiki and begun using it to plan, record and communicate.
  • A provincial math education organization is using a wiki to plan. (Ontario is a very, very, very big province and CommonCraft has described the problems with planning by email – http://www.commoncraft.com/video-wikis-plain-english).

I see these as signs that people are becoming more conscious of web 2.0 possibilities. It may not have gone viral – yet – but it may be starting to. Work Literacy has been developing frustratingly slowly but maybe, just maybe, the tipping point is approaching.

4 thoughts on “We May be on the Cutting Edge/Signs of Hope

  1. Oh, you are so lucky. I’m consulting on a project where e-mail is the norm (almost a hundred per day), as well as multiple versions of the same doc. I’ve set up Google Docs but to no avail. And to rub salt in the wound, this group is supposed to be seeking funding for innovations in learning technologies – sheesh!

    At least I know that not a single member of the group will ever find this comment 😉

    Like

  2. And two steps back…I just lost 2 semesters worth of good learning and examples for my students as the wiki we used (through the university) was deleted due to FERPA laws. Since students were automatically put into the system with their full names (and can’t opt out) the wiki can only be used for that semester. As new tools are created and methods are established, so are new ways to limit their use.

    Like

  3. Virginia – Ouch! I sympathize. My personal solution – flying under the radar and using web applications outside of the system. I give students one month after the course is over to retrieve what they want from our wikis and class blog, then, usually after another month;-> I take them down and/or keep a private copy myself.

    Like

Leave a comment