Skip to content

Why I use Seesmic Web for my Twitter app

August 17, 2009

I’ve used a number of applications to play on Twitter.

Currently I’m using Seesmic on the web. Here’s why:

I like being able to keep Twitter open on a tab. I can do that with the original Twitter, but Seesmic lets me have multiple threads open, and Twitter doesn’t.

Tweet Deck lets me keep several threads open but I don’t like leaving it open while I’m online because it seems to slow down my computer. That means I have to open and close it every time I want to check what’s happening. (I’m avoiding Seesmic Destop because I anticipate the same problem.)

I also prefer the light background of Seesmic over the dark background in TweetDeck.

But here’s the current deal-maker –

In Seesmic I can see the image just by resting my mouse on the link! That doesn’t appear to be true in the others; I have to click on the link and a new page opens. I like the Seesmic preview of the image, which saves me time.

What do you use as a Twitter app, and why?

http://jnthweb.ca/
https://joanvinallcox.wordpress.com/my-e-portfolio/

See and download the full gallery on posterous

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ed in Chicago permalink
    August 17, 2009 11:11 am

    Joan, you should also try Brizzly. It does the same thing, but you don’t have to hover just to see the images, they’re already there. And it’s really cute. http://brizzly.com/

  2. August 17, 2009 11:35 am

    Hi Joan

    …and you should also try twitscoop.com

    We’re like seesmic web and brizzly, but with our unique real-time tag cloud which will give you the pulse of the twittersphere.

    We also have the pic previews (we’ve had them for a long time), plus bitly stats, stock charts, multiple search tabs…

    🙂

  3. August 17, 2009 1:32 pm

    Hi Ed in Chicago and Pierre,
    Thanks for the suggestions – I’ll give them a try.

    Joan

Leave a Reply

