Skip to content

MagNet ’09

June 4, 2009

I GO-trained into Toronto today to attend some sessions  at the MagNet ’09 Conference. I was really impressed with the excellent level of organization and with the high quality of the two sessions I attended, a session with a panel of literary agents answering questions and a session with Harry van Bommel on self-publishing. Both were excellent. Harry van Bommel speaks frequently and if you ever get a chance to hear him, do it! I learned a lot from him. http://www.harryvanbommel.com/Harry_van_Bommel/HOME.html

Harry van Bommel's Home Page

Harry van Bommel's Home Page

It was a lovely day to be in downtown Toronto:

Torontos Old City Hall

Toronto's Old City Hall

Toronto's current City Hall

Tomorrow I give my presentation on researching using the web.

iQ mobile Search - an iPhone Screenshot

iQ mobile Search - an iPhone Screenshot

I worry a little because the audience will be doubly diverse. They will have many different angles on what they want to research and what for. Plus, today I noticed a wide range in web awareness and know-how in those attending the sessions I was in. As well, I’ve been tweeting using the hashtag #MagNet09, and when I’ve searched, very few seem to be using it. I’m hoping I’ve got something for everyone but tomorrow will tell.

I’m using a PowerPoint, for three reasons.

  1. I like KeyNote better, but if anything went wrong with my laptop, there might not be another Mac handy and a PowerPoint file will play on a Mac or a Windows platform. (Not that I’m paranoid ;-> but I’ve emailed a copy to my Google mail, and I have a memory stick with my presentation on it which I carry separately from my laptop,)
  2. I’ve just found PowerPoint’s Presenter Tool –  something I thought only Keynote had – and that will make my presentation easier to run.
  3. I don’t trust hotel wi-fi having had previous bad experiences with giving web-based presentations where the promised wi-fi was down more than up.

So tomorrow, I will be looking at this screen –

PowerPoints Presenter Tools

PowerPoint's Presenter Tools

Wish me luck ;->

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2009 6:46 am

    Hi Joan,
    Everyone will learn something new from you today! Is Keynote the same as Slideshare for PC? With Slideshare, you create a PowerPoint presentation add it to slideshare and then embed it on your website. If you add audio, it becomes a webinar.
    Let me know how it goes… Dawn

  2. June 5, 2009 3:54 pm

    Hi Dawn,
    KeyNote is Mac’s version of PowerPoint. I have put this up on SlideShare and embedded it here – as you can see from the post above.

Leave a Reply

