Skip to content

WordCamp Toronto 2009

May 11, 2009

Live Tweeting vs Live Blogging

WordCamp Toronto 2009 May 8, 2009

WordCamp Toronto 2009 May 8, 2009

At the Toronto WordCamp 2008, I live-blogged, and that was fun:

  1. https://joanvinallcox.wordpress.com/2008/10/04/live-blogging-at-wordcamp-toronto-08/
  2. https://joanvinallcox.wordpress.com/2008/10/05/live-blogging-wordcam-day2/

At WordCamp Toronto, 2009, I Tweeted using the hashtag #wct09, and that was fun, and more social for a couple of reasons.

  1. I was less focussed on getting every piece of wisdom and could relate more f2f with the people around me; and
  2. I could have conversations via Twitter with others at wct09 (if they were using the hashtag) pick up pieces of wisdom from their tweets, and talk f2f with them after meeting on Twitter.

So, for me, with the current social applications, Live Tweeting was a richer experience than Live Blogging, but both were fun.

Learning

I learned from the mix of new information in presentations and conversations around and between the sessions, and my most frequest conversationalists were –

I enjoyed great conversations on shared interests with them – who could ask for anything more?

Sessions

  • James Walker – Your Blog is Your Social Network

There was much more of value there, and others will be blogging about WordCamp Toronto 2009, but this is my contribution for now.

at wct09 - picture from Flickr - Uploaded on May 10, 2009 by LexnGer

at wct09 - picture from Flickr - Uploaded on May 10, 2009 by LexnGer

Thanks to http://www.flickr.com/photos/lexnger/

Oh yeah, and I won:

My Winning EduBlog WordCamp Toronto 2009

My Winning EduBlog WordCamp Toronto 2009

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2009 12:47 pm

    Hi Joan, it was great meeting you at Wordcamp and having dinner at the Drake Hotel with the group.

    Congrats on winning the Best Educational/Instructional site!

    Great recap of the event you have here, I’ll be sure to point to it when I post about Wordcamp on my blog (soon).

  2. May 11, 2009 1:55 pm

    Hi Joan,

    It was great meeting you at WordCamp Toronto. I was really impressed with your “tweetability” throughout the event. Keep in touch!

    • May 12, 2009 8:33 am

      Hey Ruth, it was a pleasure meeting you and Dawn, and I really admire both your websites!

  3. May 12, 2009 8:16 am

    Hey Joan – your site has come a long way since wordcamp 2008 – Melissa and I were both on vacation and out of town so we couldn’t come to this one but sounds like it was a good time!

  4. May 13, 2009 2:28 am

    Thank you SO much for including me in your blog post! I am honored to be mentioned amongst such brilliant people 🙂

    Let’s keep in touch!

    E.

Leave a Reply

