Skip to content

Three Years After my First Wiki

May 24, 2008

In 2005 I taught an undergrad university course on computers and communications. I used JotSpot, then in beta, a wiki I had discovered through Stephen Downes‘s OLDaily newletters. JotSpot worked really well for the class and, as I got to use it for free, I wrote up a report on the experience, which is attached: Using JotSpot.

Frequent readers will know that I am a wiki enthusiast, favouring Wikispaces for its ease of use and cheap cost and PBWiki for its ease of use and visual attractiveness. However JotSpot was adopted by Google, and has now been released as GoogleSites, and I have to say it looks very good, at least in the videos

Google Sites, the grown-up JotSpot, looks very interesting and useful, plus it’s free! I’d love to hear what you think of it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2008 5:39 pm

    There is plenty of wiki potential for education…. My preference is WetPaint.com.

  2. May 25, 2008 12:41 am

    Have been toying with Google Sites. A lot is fairly straightforward to use although there were some awkward bits e.g. adding titles or captions to images etc. You also couldn’t add Alt Text without going into the code.

    I think that the real benefit will come for people who are using Google Apps such as docs, spreadsheets etc as they can be embedded very easily.

  3. May 25, 2008 5:51 am

    Although I do belief in wiki’s, it is still very difficult to convince my colleagues. Almost at my wits end (bought books, tried different approaches, …) they keep giving up on it. So before the beginning of the next academic year I will do another internal investigation (myself, how I could tackle it in a different more productive way) to get my colleagues into it. Sometimes I even think that I should just leave it…. brrrr, what a non-savy thought 😉

Leave a Reply

